The Church Where Love Grows
Join us for Communion services
Music and celebration are important parts of worship at First Presbyterian Church
We celebrate Advent at First Presbyterian
Come to Easter worship at First Presbyterian

session committee

The body of elders elected to govern a particular congregation is called a session. They are elected by the congregation and in one sense are representatives of the other members of the congregation. On the other hand, their primary charge is to seek to discover and represent the will of Christ as they govern. Presbyterian elders are both elected and ordained. Through ordination they are officially set apart for service. They retain their ordination beyond their term in office.

Ministers who serve the congregation are also part of the session. The session is the smallest, most local governing body. The other governing bodies are presbyteries, which are composed of several churches; synods, which are composed of several presbyteries; and the General Assembly, which represents the entire denomination. Elders and ministers who serve on these governing bodies are also called presbyters.

The names and chairpersons of the 2017-2018 Session Committees and Members for Blackwell's First Presbyterian Church are listed below:

Christian Education
Deacons (Ministry of Compassion)
Evangelism & Membership
*J. Wayne Hudson (chair)
Melissa Hudson
*Pat Hullet
*Richard Dixon (chair)
*Fredda Ganer
Jim Gooden
*Rorrie Dixon (chair)
Fredda Ganer
Melissa Hudson
Arnetta Hudson
Mission & Stewardship
Worship & Music
Arnetta Hudson
*Marie Quance (chair)
*Jim Gooden (chair)
Pat Hullet
Paul Skidmore
*Marion Tucker
*Billie DeBoard (chair)

* indicates Session member for 2017-2018

2017-2018 Nominating Committee
At Large
Fredda Ganer (chair)
Billie DeBoard, Leroy Quance